Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park Review

eleanor-parkI have to admit that I started this book months ago, and am just now finishing it. It hasn’t taking me months to finish it, because it was bad, the book was amazing. Everything that I’ve read by Rainbow Rowell has been amazing, but I just hadn’t had time to read this book.

So over the past week I picked up Eleanor & Park  again, and I finished it in a couple of days. Once I started it again I didn’t want to put it down. I don’t know how to describe the plot to you without giving anything away, so I’m just going to give you the Barnes & Noble version,

“Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits-smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love-and just how hard it pulled you under.”p1020349

At first, I rolled my eyes at how fast Eleanor & Park fell for each other, because how often do we see two 15/16 year olds claiming that they are “in love” at the very beginning of books… too often. But as I got further into the book, I found myself thinking “Wow, they are really in love.” They had a glowing, youthful love, a beautiful first love.

There were a lot of road blocks, and I mean a lot, that stood in their way. But it didn’t matter to them, it didn’t matter that they came from different backgrounds, or that they weren’t the most attractive, because they genuinely loved each other.

Eleanor & Park wasn’t only a romance novel, but also a great coming of age story. Each of the characters matured so much from the beginning to the end of the book. It’s truly about being yourself despite how others feel about it. Because the people that truly care about you will support you.

Rainbow Rowell did a fantastic job, Eleanor & Park has made it’s way onto my favorite books list. It has a home right under FanGirl, I don’t know if anything will ever top that for me. But Rowell has a way of creating worlds that you never want to leave. So much so that I get a tear in my eye when the books are over. I will definitely be reading more of her books in the future.

You can buy a copy of Eleanor & Park:

Here: http://bit.ly/2kNRFhQ

Here: http://bit.ly/2kl5gRd

and

Here:http://amzn.to/2kIKWX7

It is also available on Nook, Kindle, and you can listen to the audiobook on Audible.

Leave a Reply

