13 Reasons Why I Love 13 Reasons Why

  1. Diversity

The whole cast was so diverse, and representative of different lifestyles. I was amazed that there was more than one black character and none of them were sidekicks to anyone.

2. The Actors

The whole cast did a phenomenal job. They acted so well that while I was watching the show, I genuinely hated them.  But then I had to realize that there just actors, but their characters were the worst. No joke.

3. Nice Pacing

There were only 13 episodes (for the 13 tapes), and they were all paced well. None of the episodes seemed rushed or too slow, but they were quite long, at an hour an episode them it gave them long enough to go into detail during each tape.

4. Drama. Drama. Drama.

My jaw was on the floor during every. single. episode. I never read the book, so I had no idea what was going to happen. But there was something new at every turn, when I thought it couldn’t get worse. It always did.

5. Character Development

Usually characters go from bad to good, but not in 13 Reasons Why. But the characters just got worse and worse, except Clay and Tony.  Every time a new character was introduced I looked at them with a side-eye because I just knew they were going to be the worst.

6. Left Me With Questions

The last episode left me wanting with so many questions. What happens next? Will there be justice for Hannah? How are they going to go on now that the tapes are done? When is season 2 coming out?

7. It Made Me Think

It made me think about how I treat people, and what I do when I see others being mistreated. It made me want to pay more attention to the people around me, my friends, my family, my classmates. I never want them to feel so alone, that they have to make a drastic decision like suicide. This show really makes you think about others.

8. It Showed Me Something

It showed me that Film/TV adaptations can actually be like the book. It showed me that when the right producers and writers and directors come together, they can do a book justice. I had given up hope on film/tv adaptations, because they’re never good enough for me. But 13 Reasons Why was phenomenal, and I’m excited to see what comes next for the series.

9. It Made Me Appreciate My Friends and Family

This show made me appreciate my friends and family so much more. I’m glad I have friends and family that love me and support me, and that’s always there for me when I need someone to talk to. Because there are people that aren’t so lucky.

10. Great Writing

Whoever wrote the script for this series did a great job, I have an immense respect for anyone who can keep the integrity of the original work.

11. Representation

I love that they included the LGBTQIA community into the high school narrative, because so many TV shows and movies try to count them out. But in reality there are gay people in high schools.

12. It’s Amazing

This show is amazing, and I would recommend it to everyone. It’s well-written, has great actors, and an amazing plot. It deserves all the great feedback it’s getting plus some.

 

13. And Last but Not Least….It’s Important

This topic is so important especially when there is a new story every day about kids killing themselves because of bullying. Girls and boys get raped everyday and get no justice. Kids are bullied and get no justice. These things happen and people turn a blind eye to it, because society is too uncomfortable to talk about it. But this show is starting the conversation, and hopefully this influences others to join the conversation. So we can get justice for the people who need it.

 

Leave a Reply

