You’re a Terrible Writer- And Other Things I Tell Myself Late At Night

“You suck at writing.”

“You’ll never get published.”

“I hope you like folding t-shirts forever, because you’re never going to make it.”

Over the past year, I have been trying to write a book, and even though I’m halfway done with the first manuscript. I have this annoying voice in the back of my head that keeps telling me, that I’m not good enough, and that I should give up.

This voice can get very loud and obnoxious at night, especially when I’m trying to write, and I could say that I ignore it, but sometimes I can’t.  It can get very discouraging, almost to the point where I want to give up. I work, I go to school, then come home, write for a few hours, and go to sleep. Maybe I’m so discouraged, because it’s been a year and the first manuscript still isn’t done.

There are so many nights when I just lay in bed, and wonder if I’m ever going to finish this book. Or if I will ever be published. I just feel like, I’m chasing the wrong dream.

But I know deep down inside that I’m not, and if I just push past that stupid little voice in my head that I can, I will, be a successful published author one day. When I close my eyes I can see it. I walk into Barnes and Noble, and there it is, my book, sitting on the new releases table. Then I’ll know all my hard work paid. I just have to be patient, and who knows in the next year or two I could be a New York Times Bestseller.

I know this wasn’t a review, but it’s something that’s been on my mind a lot lately. I might make this into a series to chronicle my journey to getting published. If any of you have any tips on the writing process, and how to get through it, feel free to comment below. You can also always e-mail me at jayrreads@gmail.com9

Leave a Reply

